Robusta v. Arabica

There are many different kinds of coffee. Although, Robusta and Arabica are the most common types that you would easily find. There are definitely perks and cons to each and that is what I’ll be discussing in this post. I have found some differences between the two types of coffee that I find most important.

which countries produce what type?
Arabica and Robusta producing countries

Cultivation: 75% of the world’s coffee production is Arabica, and 25% is Robusta. The most significant Arabica produces is Brazil, and Vietnam produces the most Robusta due to climate.

Plant Height/Shape: Arabica coffee plants grow from 2.5-4.5 meters in height while Robusta plants grow 4.5-6 meters in height. Arabica beans are an oval shape, while Robusta beans are more circular.

Where to find it: If you are drinking instant coffee, it is most likely a Robusta blend. If it is a mixed blend, then it has both Arabica and Robusta. There are some coffee brands out there that is exclusively 100% Arabica, which is what I choose to drink.

Price: Robusta beans average half of the price of Arabica beans

Lipids and Sugar Content: Arabica contains almost 60% more lipids and almost twice the concentration of sugar than Robusta. This contributes to Arabica tasting better generally than Robusta. Another attribute to the not so pleasant taste of Robusta is that it generally has more caffeine than Arabica does. When you think about the idea of more caffeine, it sounds good. But it causes Robusta coffee to taste more rubbery than Arabica.

These are the main differences that I found most important when I researched some things about the two types. There are other differences and things to know when you are trying to find what kind of coffee suits you best, but these were the most prevalent to me.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Robusta v. Arabica

  1. Wow! I am not much a coffee person myself but I would have never guessed that in each kind of coffee there can be so many differences. It is truly interesting how much information there is on something you would not expect. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I had no idea that there were different types of coffee beans. I am not much of a coffee drinker so I don’t know very much information about it but it seems like you have done a lot of research and enjoy drinking it. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. My boyfriend is a barista so he has told me about the different types of coffee many times. He’s very passionate about it, he will point out misleading labels when we’re grocery shopping. This was a very interesting post that has helped my understanding about Arabica vs. Robusta!

      Like

Leave a Reply

